jump to navigation

One Week Down . . . January 11, 2010

Posted by Barbara Nixon in Assignment.
trackback

For Prof. Nixon’s FYE 1220 Class:

As of January 15, you’ve now completed your first full week at Georgia Southern University. Take a few moments now and reflect on the following three questions:

  • What did you learn?
  • What surprised you?
  • What do you now want to know more about?

In the Leave a Reply area, fill out the short demographic form (name, e-mail, etc.), and respond with at least one item in each of the three categories. In other words, let me know at least one thing you learned, one thing that surprised you, and one thing you want to know more about. Your answers can focus on college in general or on this Making Connections: Facebook & Beyond course.

Questions?

barbara_is_listening

Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jjay/112404324/

Comments»

1. Donny McAtee - January 15, 2010

I can definitely say that I learned a lot here this first week. I learned how to get around campus pretty good. I have four classes, which none of them are close to the other ones. I learned to ask for help when I’m struggling to understand what the professor is saying. I used to not want to look stupid, but now I have to make sure that I’m on the same page with them. I also learned that parking is free on campus, anytime after 4:30 or 5:00, which is great because two of my other classes begin at 5:00 and 7:00.
The things that surprised me the most were that some professors had accents that could hardly be understood by anyone in the class and a lot of the students dropped that class during the drop/add period this week. Another thing that surprised me was the fact that I was the second oldest person in all of my other classes. Considering, I haven’t been to school in ten years and now trying to go back to better my education has definitely been a change. I also was surprised to find out how much I’d forgotten during those years. When we were going over algebra in my pre-calculus class, I was definitely lost.
I guess one of the things that I would want to know more about would be, “how to be a better note taker and how to study better for exams. I was very slack in high school when it came to studying because I didn’t really care, but now my attitude has changed somewhat and I have a drive to get good grades. My dad is 50 and he’s just now getting his BA and he’s had only A’s since he’s been back. That in itself gives me power to strive.

2. Jessica Durrence FYE 1220 - January 15, 2010

This week, I learned many things that are influential to my college experience. I learned just how different college is from high school. Teachers do not worry about petty things such as behavioral issues, tardiness to class, etc. Teachers expect students to do what is expected of them and to do what is needed to be done without constant reminders. I felt much more independent. I was very surprised when students got up and left during the middle of class time while teachers were in lecture. I found it very disrespectful and wondered why they even bothered coming to class. Ultimately, I learned that college is a whole new world. I hope to learn, out of this class, how to be more successful in my college career. I would like to focus my next four years on transforming myself into the woman that I will be for the rest of my life.

3. Lorenzo Gonzalez - January 16, 2010

After the first week I can say I know my way around campus pretty well now. I don’t have a car, but walking around lost for awhile helps a lot. I was surprised mostly by how easy the professors are to stay in contact with. I’ve had to e-mail several of them about books or something and they all respond within the hour so that helps. Since this first week is over, now I’m just hoping to learn more about how to manage classes and to keep school as my top priority.

4. Brandon Jaudon - January 17, 2010

My first week of class went great for me. Seeing all the new faces, meeting new people, and living on my own was all a new and exciting challenge for me. I learned that there is nobody there to wake you up and remind you to get to class. Also, that all professors does not have the same expectations. Usually back in high school, the teachers all followed the same rules and regulations. Now the professors each have there own guidelines and expects you to follow them. Well the first thing that surprised me was the loss of my grandmother. She was and still is the reason I am in school now. Another thing was the releasing of classes. If the professor decides if he or she has tought everything there was for us to learn they can dismiss class at any time during our scheduled time. It really schocked me when we got started and finished in 30 minutes. I want to learn more about how to increase my study habbits. I know I can get a little side-tracked and digress from the issue, but I am willing to put in the effort if I try. I want to also learn how to be aware of things that are posted online that way I will not be late with some of my assignments. So all-in-all my first week had its highs and its lows, but those are the adjustments that I am willing to make for myself so I can have a promising future.

5. Caitlin Barth - January 19, 2010

The first week of school has been pretty good so far. Very different from Mercer, where i have transfered from. This campus is a lot bigger but i like it a lot. My teachers seem pretty legit about how the classes will be run and graded by. I learned that if i want to keep up in my classes i need to read a lot. I also learned all the good spots to eat on campus. Im surprised that not a lot of ppl go to the womens basketball games here. Im also surprised how many and much of my classes use georgia view for everything. I really have to get use to that. At mercer most everything was done in the class room and not online. I want to know more about when assignments are do in this class… i thought they were all on georgia view since thats what everyone uses.

6. Lindsey Rowland - January 19, 2010

My first week was really busy. I had a lot of artwork to do for my 3D class and drawing 2. I get to make a pop up book =] My english class is going to be awesome! I’ve learned what a cento poem is and an inkshed. I like the fact that I can share my feelings in my work and not get punished in my grade for it. I think this semester is going to be awesome. a lot of work but a lot of fun too. I would like to learn more about art techniques for my major and become better with my essays. What surprised me was how out of shape I was during body conditioning.

7. Elora Knaebel FYE 1220 - January 19, 2010

This week I didn’t learn overly much, I got to know new faces in my classes and meet my teachers, but other than that there was nothing new under the sun. Nothing much surprised me this week either, I took classes last semester and I knew pretty much what to expect. I would like to learn more about technology over this semester, I love technology and it is a fast growing feild.

8. Jordan Rohm - January 19, 2010

The first week of this semester was pretty much like any other school week. Nothing was really different other than the fact that I had new classes. I learned to NOT throw away my syllabuses! I was suprised by how many rude students there are out there. Someone in my history class was actually making oragomi! It was so loud I could not hear anything. And I really want to know how to work this online class because computers and I do not mix!!

9. Jon Adams - January 19, 2010

I transferred here this semester from Mercer just as Caitlin did and I am loving Ga Southern so far. The first week was great getting to learn and check out the campus. I had seen a few buildings before I transferred but going into some of my classes made me realize how nice this campus really is. I’m just glad to be down here and ready to meet new people and have a lot of fun

10. lautommy - January 19, 2010

The first week of school this semester was no different than the first week of school any semester: It started too soon, too early, and leaves me only wanting to be back on break. I have learned so far this semester that English 1102 is not going to be any easier than 1101. I was surprised when my Fye class was scheduled to be in a classroom and I ended up watching the class online and listening to my professor over a cell phone. This semester I want to know more about my major and not so much core curriculum.

11. Elisehia Camp - January 19, 2010

My first week of this semester did not go as well as I thought it would. I did not really learn anything as of now. College is not the great experience everyone makes it out. I kind of overwhelmed. I think I am going to have a tough semester and the work load is going to be overbearing. I would like to know more about the student activities, and how to get an on campus job.

12. rundellfye - January 19, 2010

In the first week of classes i have learned that 19,000 ppl is just a little bigger then my high school was lol I was surprised how few of parking spots there were for a huge campus in the middle of nowhere, and i would like to learn more about what is to come in the future for georgia southern such as campus improvements and added classes.

13. Joseph Kennedy - January 19, 2010

My first week at GSU went very well. I joined the Marine Corps straight out of high school and served 4 years and now I’m here, so I’m a little rusty on this whole school work thing. I’ve learned that if you have a disability (I’m a disabled combat veteran) the Student Disability Resource Center accommodates students very well. I have an all access parking pass and get to park in faculty parking anywhere on campus! What surprised me the most is that keeping up with your school work can be a little hectic at times when dealing with GeorgiaView and when assignments are due, but I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it. I want to know more about the different resources I can use to excel better in class and I’m eager to learn my way around campus more.

14. Maria Burton - January 19, 2010

My first week I learned that I really need to work on my time management . I am working full time and I have been out of school for a couple of years, but I think my first week has started to get me back in the swing of things. I have been so determined to get into college and I realized the hardest part was getting started. I was surprised at the cost of a book and disk I needed for a class, pretty costly I’ll say. I would like to know more about computers in depth.

15. jacobpage - January 19, 2010

* What did you learn?
* What surprised you?
* What do you now want to know more about?
During this first week I’ve learned a lot about the student services on campus. All the different labs you can go study at. The free tutoring in Cone Hall. I’ll be taking advantage of those this semester. Other than some dude walking around in shorts and flip-flops when it was basically freezing outside, one thing that surprised me was the time management chart I saw. I filled it out and realized how much free time I really have so I’ll definitely be working on some time management. As far as something I want to know more about, Id like to find out what exactly is going to be required for my major throughout my college career.

16. jesseherron - January 26, 2010

During the first week I learned where some building are that I had never even heard of before here. It was good coming back from break to all my friends and the familiar routine of school. Some suprises were getting lost for class, because I thought I was already pretty adjusted to the school. My boyfriend suprised me by coming down for a visit, which was fun of course. I want to learn more about what my new classes are because they all seem very interesting this semester. I would also like to find out more about what I am going to end up majoring in and how to pick the best major for my personality as well as what careers I might end up wanting to have in the future.

17. Early Alert Grades Available « Making Connections - February 6, 2010

[…] You’ve created your blog and sent me the address. You commented on my blog during Week One and Three as required. You attended at least two of the live sessions we did in WIMBA Live […]

18. Blog Post #1 ::My Comment for post #1 « Lautommy's Blog - April 1, 2010

[…] Blog Post #1 ::My Comment for post #1 10. lautommy – January 19, 2010 […]

19. rachelwise22 - April 29, 2010

My first week at Georgia Southern [although it seems like forever ago] was SO crazy. The Sunday before, I got a couple of my older friends to show me around campus and find all of my classes. I was very nervous about the first day of college. After having been in the same school system in Atlanta since kindergarten, I was anxious about being in a completely new environment with few people who I knew. Once it got going though, it actually went very well. I was able to find all of my classes without much of a problem, and I found that people were generally very friendly and helpful. That really surprised me. One thing i really would like to learn more about is fully utilizing my resources as a student at georgia southern [such as the counceling center, academic success center, ect.]. Those were two things that I feel like I am still under-informed about.

20. cwadford - May 15, 2010

FYE 1220: Summer semester

My first week at Georgia Southern was very exciting Even though it has been 9 months since the first week I can still remember it as though it was last week. My first day there I spent unpacking and getting my room together. I had one of my best friends and my grandmother down there helping me. The next day was Saturday and we went to Tybee Island. Sunday I said goodbye to my grandma and best friend and got ready for class the next day. On Monday I went to my very class which was at 8 AM. I had a 10 AM class a 1PM class and a 330 class. After figuring out what i needed for each class I was exhausted. The next day I had 1 class but it wasn’t until 11. Wednesday was the same as monday and thursday I had 2 classes and Friday I had 2. That week was full of things to do including class, going to the BCM and meeting lots of people.

samonesmith - May 18, 2010

Even though, it has been almost two years since my first week at Southern I still vaguely remember my first week. I still remember that there was a ridiculous amount of students waiting to get on the bus from Southern Courtyard and that it was extremely hot on the bus! I remember first walking into COBA trying to find my class room and then realizing that my next class was on the complete other side of campus! I learned about the SAP certification during my first week of class and how “important” it was for Management majors to have it. I also learned that it is quicker to walk to class than trying to catch the bus. I was surprised by the friendly atmosphere. I made new friends during my first class! I really don’t want to know anything else about Georgia Southern, as a senior I believe I know enough. At this point in my college career I’m only focused on graduating!

21. Matt Vickery - May 19, 2010

Matt Vickery
mv00630@georgiasouthern.edu

My first official week as a new (transfer) student to Georgia Southern is almost over. I wish I could say I actually got a glimpse of life as an average college student; however living an hour away from campus, being enrolled in all online courses, continuing to work full time, and being a full time dad leaves little room for that. No complaints though, I’m just relieved to be back in the mix of it all. My education has been put on the back burner for too long- and now it’s my time to get it finished.

I did learn a lot on Saturday. As long (and sometimes boring) as it was, I can honestly say that no incoming student will leave SOAR with unanswered questions. But beyond learning the locations of buildings, where to eat, and the names of professors and advisors “that I should know”, I learned that the people at GSU are different than those I’ve encountered at other universities. The faculty/staff seem truly interested in their students’ success. I even had a conversation with a member of the janitorial staff in the bathroom- who wished me luck on my first semester. This realization came as a surprise to me, considering how difficult it has been in the past to get a member of faculty to even respond to an email. I was also surprised to discover how many resources were available to students on campus; from printing, to shopping, to tutoring sessions, everything you could possibly need is at your fingertips. I’ve attended other colleges, but have never seen a support system quite like the one here at GSU.

I know this semester is going to be tough. Taking online classes for the first time requires an immense amount of patience, but I can honestly say I’m ready to learn more. I’ve never considered myself “computer savvy” but I think this course will prove just how much the internet has to offer. I look forward to learning more about communications (via blogging, twitter, etc.) and using it to my advantage in life ahead. I’m interested in learning how it all works, as well as getting insight from other students who are learning with me. I’m beginning this course with an open mind, and am eager to give it my all.

22. Elizabeth Vinson - May 20, 2010

I’ve attended Georgia Southern for about two years now, but this is the first time I took Summer classes. Since I drive in from Savannah, I dreaded this Summer session requiring everyday attendance. After this first week I learned that it isn’t so bad driving to Statesboro every day. Also being in class Monday through Friday helps me focus on the classes versus my usual Tuesday and Thursday routine.

I expected to see less students on campus, but was surprised that the bus still was full at the stadium. I thought it would be a breeze getting a seat and have extra room.

One of my classes this semester is Introduction to Philosophy. This class is interesting so far even though some of the readings and information sound strange. I am eager though to challenge myself to read and think more critically, to see if I can understand where the author is coming from.


Leave a Reply

